Skip to content

The First Days

September 5, 2010

So, it’s been 5 whole days since I registered the blog with my WordPress.com account–what have I done in that time?

Well, pretty much all I’ve done is sit around and mull over what my first post would be about.  I mean, this is a blog about blogging, so it should be blogging-related, right?  But how can I blog about blogging if I haven’t really blogged at all yet?  Well, I’ve got to blog about something so that I can blog about it.

Yeah, it is really as circular as sounds.

What I’ve determined is that the best way to get started is to just bite the bullet and do it.  It feels a lot like jumping off the dock into the lake without knowing beforehand how to swim, just not as dramatic.  Or life-threatening.  But all the same, I figure, I’ll just start and let myself have some bumbling-around, figuring-it-all-out time before expecting perfection.

Admittedly, since I’m a perfectionist, I don’t like to do anything at all until I know I can do it perfectly, and do just jump in and figure it out as I go, is quite unappealing.  But at the same time, how will I get anything done if I don’t do anything?  Reading as much as I can about blogging won’t actually get any blog posts done, which means my blog will continue being post-less until I actually sit down and push something out, imperfect though it may be.

So thus far, that’s the biggest lesson I’ve learned:  just like Nike put it, just do it.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

