Skip to content

Interview with Daniel Scocco, Author of DailyBlogTips.com

October 2, 2010

Most bloggers, once they enter the blogging world, quickly learn who the big players are.  One of the best known is Daniel Scocco, author of Daily Blog Tips.  Now, I’m a big believer in stealing other people’s brilliance and making it work for me (take note: I don’t do anything like plagiarizing, I just find good ideas and apply them to things I do).  So, I decided to pick his brain…I mean, ask him for an interview.

I feel it is worth sharing that I emailed him last night, expecting that it would take a couple days before he responded to me, if he responded at all.  To my great surprise and pleasure, when I woke up this morning, his thoughtful and helpful response was waiting for me in my inbox.  An example I intend to follow throughout the rest of my blogging career.

So, now the good stuff…

_______________________________

TBJ:  What exactly did you do that, in your opinion, gained you your first 10 subscribers?

Daniel:  I simply focused on writing great content and promoting the blog as a whole. Once I had 10 posts or so I started commenting on other blogs, submitting the blog to directories, joining online forums and what not. This sent me an initial influx of visitors, and I guess many of them liked the content and decided to subscribe.

TBJ:  How did you gain your first 10 followers on Twitter?

Daniel:  Keep in mind that I think RSS and email subscribers are much more valuable than Twitter followers, because the interaction you have with them is more solid.

That being said, I wrote a post on my blog when I joined Twitter, encouraging my readers to follow me there.  That gave me some 200 followers or so.

TBJ:  How did you get your first guest post on your own blog, where someone else posted?  Did you ask  them, or did they ask you?  Would you recommend soliciting guest posts for your own blog?  Why or why not?

Daniel:  If I remember well the other person asked if he could write a guest post on my blog, and I accepted.  In fact I don’t think that going around asking for people to guest blog on your blog is an efficient strategy. It can work to get the ball rolling, but the ideal situation is one where people are naturally submitting guest posts to you. How do you achieve that? By growing your audience first (as guest bloggers want to reach big audiences), and by highlighting that you do accept guests (for example by creating a “Write for us” link on your navigation menu).

TBJ:  How do you recommend requesting and conducting interviews with other bloggers?  Email, IM chat, recorded voice chat?  Is one better than the other?

Daniel:  Email is by far the most efficient one. Why? Because everyone uses email (while the same is not true for IM), and scheduling a phone call for a voice interview is complicated.

My advice is to email the person you want to interview, explaining where and how it will be published. It’s also important to send all the questions right away. If you just send an email asking permission to send the questions the other person will probably ignore it.

(Note:  This is exactly what I did.  I didn’t know beforehand that this is what he’d prefer…I just knew that he was more likely to respond to my email if the questions were well thought out.  I learned that by reading his blog.  Go figure.  For more from him about conducting interviews with other bloggers, click here.)

TBJ:  How long had you been blogging before you started to see “results,” and what were the results you started to see? Would you say there was a turning point, a moment where you felt like the ball really started rolling on its own and your growth just started to explode the way every blogger hopes it will?

Daniel:  I don’t think there was any pivotal moment with my blogs. It was a gradual thing, where they kept growing month after month, but without large spikes.

There was one thing that gave me a lot of motivation though. It was when I first started monetizing one of  my blogs. I loaded a Google AdSense unit there, and made $20 or so during the first month. It was not a lot, but definitely enough to get me excited, as I was putting only a couple of hours of weekly work into the blog. I figured that if I worked more the earnings would increase proportionally (if not exponentially), and they did.

Thanks so much for sharing, Daniel!

For another interesting interview with Daniel, where he talks more about his experience, visit this article on The Rating Blog.

Click here to receive updates by email from The Blogger’s Journey–it’s free!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

