Skip to content

Never Underestimate the Power of a Picture

May 29, 2011

Adding a picture can change the whole look and feel of a post.

I’ve learned that one of the best ways to take a post to the next level is to simply…

add a picture.

Something about adding a picture makes an otherwise “blah” post into something more interesting, or at least more eye-catching.  I know that when I’m skimming a blog, I’m immediately more drawn to the posts, or descriptions of posts, that have a picture.  As far as I can tell, it doesn’t matter what the picture is of, or even if it’s related to the content of the post (many times they’re not, but it’s better if they are).  But something about the inclusion of a picture immediately makes, at least me, more interested and engaged, and more likely to respond or interact in some way.

If it has that effect on me, it stands to reason that it will have a similar effect on other readers.  The reason I say that is that I recently posted something on another of my blogs (a recipe for maple syrup, of all things) but I added a picture of a bottle of maple syrup.  And it was that that got my other blog featured on foodpress.com.  That’s all it took, just adding a picture.  Pretty cool, huh?

So, it’s something that I intend to do with pretty much every blog post I do from now on: I will include at least one visual element.

What has your experience been with including or omitting a photo?  Do you find that your picture-fied posts receive more hits and/or comments than those posts without pictures?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

